Grid denisty

Questions and discussions regarding the use of Qbox
Forum rules
You must be a registered user to post in this forum. Registered users may also post new topics if they consider that their subject does not correspond to any topic already present on the forum.
Post Reply
Jamoliddin
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 7:50 am

Grid denisty

Post by Jamoliddin »

Hello,

Is there anyway to set the grid (mesh) density in the input file?

Thank you.
fgygi
Site Admin
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:03 pm

Re: Grid denisty

Post by fgygi »

The size of the grid used to represent the charge density in real space is determined by the value of the plane wave energy cutoff ecut and the size of the unit cell cell. The size can be printed using the status command after setting the values of cell and ecut:

Code: Select all

[qbox] set cell 20 0 0  0 20 0  0 0 20
<unit_cell 
    a="20.00000000  0.00000000   0.00000000  "
    b="0.00000000   20.00000000  0.00000000  "
    c="0.00000000   0.00000000   20.00000000 " />
[qbox] set ecut 60
[qbox] status
<np0v> 112 </np0v>  <np1v> 112 </np1v>  <np2v> 112 </np2v>
<wf ecut="30.00000000" nspin="1" nel="0" nempty="0">
<cell a="20.000000 0.000000 0.000000"
      b="0.000000 20.000000 0.000000"
      c="0.000000 0.000000 20.000000"/>
 reciprocal lattice vectors
 0.314159 0.000000 0.000000
 0.000000 0.314159 0.000000
 0.000000 0.000000 0.314159
<refcell a="0.000000 0.000000 0.000000"
         b="0.000000 0.000000 0.000000"
         c="0.000000 0.000000 0.000000"/>
<grid nx="56" ny="56" nz="56"/>
<slater_determinant kpoint="0 0 0" size="0">
 sdcontext: 1x1
 basis size: 31335
 c dimensions: 31335x0   (31335x1 blocks)
 <density_matrix form="diagonal" size="0"/>
</slater_determinant>
</wf>
<vcm> 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 </vcm>
In this example, the charge density grid is 112x112x112 (elements <np0v> etc.), and the wave function grid is 56x56x56 (element <grid>).
Jamoliddin
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 7:50 am

Re: Grid denisty

Post by Jamoliddin »

Thank you for reply.
But can we modify the grid dimension keeping 'ecut' and 'cell' unchanged.
Best.
Post Reply